RETENTION & Why Do Employees Quit on Their Bosses? Because They Never Get Asked These Important Questions

by Marcel Schwantes, Inc. Magazine, 7/4/17.

… Over the decades, they (Gallup) have interviewed tens of thousands of employees to find the core of a great workplace, resulting in their “Q12 Engagement Survey..”

If you’re a leader or manager and your employees were asked the following about you, how would you do in this assessment?

1. I know what is expected of me at work.

2. I have the materials and equipment I need to do my work right.

3. At work, I have the opportunity to do what I do best everyday.

4. In the last seven days, I have received recognition or praise for doing good work.

5. My supervisor or someone at work seems to care about me as a person.

6. There is someone at work who encourages my development.

7. At work, my opinions seem to count.

8. The mission/purpose of my organization makes me feel my job is important.

9. My associates or co-workers are committed to doing quality work.

10. I have a best friend at work.

11. In the last six months, someone at work has talked to me about my progress.

12. In the last year, I had opportunities to learn and grow.

Here’s a fact: When employees don’t get the tools, training, time, development, clear expectations, vision or resources to do their jobs well, they get to experience low morale for the first time. They stop caring and they stop trying, unfortunately, early on in the game.

On a sidenote, I think you’ll find this captivating: research is saying that a typical employee’s mind isn’t made up about staying or leaving a new company until month six!..

Read more at … https://www.inc.com/marcel-schwantes/why-do-new-employees-quit-their-jobs-so-soon-the-e.html