TACTICAL LEADERSHIP & Doctoral Student Validates 60-20-20 Ratio

Commentary by Dr. Whitesel: I recently received this email from a former student. He applied the Strategic-Tactical-Operational (STO) Leadership Questionnaire to his leaders.  It helped solve their leadership impasse. I’ve also posited that a 20-20-60 ratio of strategic-tactical-operational leadership on a team seems to make sense. He validated this in his case-study and here is his email (with names changed).

Dr. Whitesel,  I’m not sure if you remember me or not, but I wanted to drop you a line.

First, thank you so much for making my experience at Indiana Wesleyan great. You were truly a great influence in my life and thinking. I continue to go back and read your books and do my best to put your wisdom into action.

Second, your book Change Reaction has been the greatest book to help me in my ministry context. I know that you have had several of my friends (Don S. and Angie B.) attending your classes.

The reason for my email is that I wanted to let you know that we have been one church that has verified your hunch in the Change reaction Book.

A little background first….I have moved out of Children’s Ministry and now I am overseeing the volunteers and ministry of our church. We have moved into our new worship center moving from 1000 to 1200. The goal of our pastor is now to move to 1500 and we have been stuck.

Due to this being stuck, I went back to your book and had all of our volunteers take the leadership assessment on page 46-47. I copied this off your blog (https://churchhealthwiki.wordpress.com/2015/07/11/sto-leadership-a-questionnaire-to-discover-your-leadership-mix-changereactionbook/)… The amazing thing is that I had 131 leaders take the assessment and we did hit your 60 – 20 – 20 hunch. Here is the graphic:

image003

I was amazed that after taking this assessment, it verified what you were saying.

The goal now is to look for these tactical leaders and place them over the ministries to help lift the church to the next level. I thought this would be very interesting to you. Also, it is my belief that this is why we haven’t been able to move to the next level.

Anyway, thank you for your training, writing, and teaching. I am taking all of this to heart and utilizing your teachings! If you would have time, I would love to possibly to talk to you about this more. I am finishing my dissertation through North Central University. I am writing on the missing link in the church – the tactical leader.

I have found several dissertations where the biggest needs for pastors and churches are people skills and administration (tactical leadership). As you stated that McGavran was your mentor, I look at you as this to me. Lastly, I would like to use Change Reaction as the foundation of my study and research. Would you be okay with this? I look forward to hearing from you when you have time. I appreciate you and I thank you again for your influence.

Jason D.